Skip to content

LMNGNO Leadership

For general questions or concerns, please direct correspondence to:
Follow Us:

Officers 2024

President:   Julia Lightner - 
Vice-President: Janna Wisniewski, Ph.D.
Treasurer:  Michele Mire, CPA
Secretary:   Janell Simpson, Ph.D.
Past President:  Robert A. (Bob) Thomas, Ph.D.

Board of Directors 2024

(Date following name is expiration year for their term)

  • Meg Adams, retired civil engineer (2026)
  • Byron Almquist, owner Canoe and Trail Adventures (2024)
  •  Andrew Barron, Senior Water Resource Coordinator & Quality Assurance Manager (2024)
  • Frank P. Boimare III, M.S., M.F.A., librarian (2026)
  • Kismet R. Collins, M.D., physician (2024)
  • Karen Dufour (2026)
  • Courtney Egan (2025)
  • Leonard (Tres) Fisher, III, Attorney (2026)
  • Albert P. (Rusty) Gaudé, Area Fishery Extension Agent (2025)
  • Jim Grice (2026)
  • Craig Hood, PhD, Invited Member (2025)
  • Tanee Janusz, environmental educator and Certified Wildlife Rehabilitator (2025)
  • Tricia Leblanc, nature educator (2024)
  • Julia Lightner, President of the Board, biologist, Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (2025)
  • Michael Massimi, Coastal Ecologist, Invasive Species Specialist (2025)
  • Marianne Maumus, M.D., Ochsner physician (2024)
  •  Rue McNeill, Executive Director of Northlake Nature Center (2026)
  • Michele M. Mire, CPA, Treasurer of the Board, LA Master Gardener, native plant and wildlife enthusiast (2026)
  • Mary Mysing-Gubala, Ph.D., retired teacher (2025)
  • Ann Plicque, M. M., gardener, outdoorswoman (2024)
  • Janell Simpson, Ph.D., Past-President of the Board, retired teacher (2024)
  • Rebecca Stilling, LCSW, social worker (2024)
  • Robert (Bob) A. Thomas, Ph.D., Professor (2026)
  • Bill Van der Meer, (2025)
  •  Janna M. Wisniewski, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of the Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine (2025)

Delegates to the Louisiana Master Naturalist Association Board

Simpson, Janell, Ph.D.
Thomas, Robert (Bob) A., Ph.D.
Van Der Meer, Bill

Advisory Council

DONATA R. HENRY, Ph.D., ornithology, Tulane University
ZACK LEMANN, M.S. – spiders & insects, Audubon Nature Institute
DAVID P. MUTH, former Louisiana State Director, Mississippi River Delta Restoration Coalition, National Wildlife Federation – 2017 Percy Viosca Outstanding Naturalist
MARK SCHEXNAYDER, Senior Scientist, Batture LLC.