Skip to content


Donald Muir Bradburn Outstanding Louisiana Master Naturalist Award, Greater New Orleans Chapter

The late Dr. Donald Muir Bradburn (1924-2012) was a pathologist and life-long naturalist, most noted for his photography - especially the scenery and natural history of Horn Island, Mississippi. His wife, Anne, shares his love of nature and earned her Master of Science degree with a study of the plants of Horn Island.

LMNGNO wishes to honor the outstanding graduate of each class whose enthusiasm, attitude, dedication to learning, collegiality with classmates, and expansion of knowledge is considered by present classmates to deserve the honor of being named the Donald Muir Bradburn Louisiana Master Naturalist Award winner.

Since the honoree is chosen solely by class members, it is important that each class member determines who exemplifies the goals of LMNGNO:

  • to become better educated in natural history of the GNO region
  • to demonstrate enthusiasm for the course objectives
  • to be a leader among like-minded participants
  • to be prepared for classes and actively participate in workshops
  • to show dedication to volunteerism and natural history service to others
  • to exemplify the character and image of a Certified Louisiana Master Naturalist.
Class Award Winner
Fall 2013 Byron Almquist
Spring 2014 Janell Simpson
Fall 2014 Jackson Blalock
Spring 2015 Christopher Johnson
Fall 2015  
Spring 2016 Kaye London
Fall 2016 Rebekah Lloyd
Spring 2017 David Bull
Fall 2017  
Spring 2018 Nicole Moody
Fall 2018 Alanna Frick
Spring 2019 Kismet Collins
Fall 2019 Dale Campo
Spring 2020 Seth Nehrbass
Fall 2020 Gardner Goodall
Spring 2021 Jacqueline Taylor
Fall 2021 Tom Rogers
Spring 2022 Karen Marshall
Fall 2022 Tim Green
Spring 2023 Arnoldo Vanegas
Fall 2023 Julie Wood
Paul Percy Viosca, Jr. Outstanding Naturalist Award, Greater New Orleans Region, presented by the Louisiana Master Naturalists of Greater New Orleans

Paul Percy Viosca, Jr. (1892-1961), was a native New Orleanian who loved the habitats of Louisiana from early childhood and worked professionally to conserve and understand its rich environment.  He was a renowned scientist with the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, owned the private business Southern Biological Supply, and was among the first environmental consultants.  His many publications on Louisiana's coastal wetlands are classics in the field and widely read today.

This award may be given annually to a person who has made outstanding contributions to the field of natural history in the Greater New Orleans region.  The nominee is not required to be affiliated in any way with LMNGNO, but should reside in the LMNGNO service area.  The Viosca Award winner receives life membership in LMNGNO. 

Award Winners
2017 David Muth
2020 Dinah Margarden
2021 Byron Almquist
2022 Pon Dixson
2023 Linda Auld
2024 Nancy L. Newfield